October 14, 2012

Levänen & Prümper complete ETS Rd1 podium

Juho Levänen and Yannic Prümper completed the podium at the opening round of the 2012/13 Yokomo Euro Touring Series after finishing 1st and 3rd respectively in the third A-Main at Mülheim-Kärlich watched on by overall winner Ronald Volker who after winning the first two legs of the final was able to sit out the closing race.  A former two time ETS race winner, today’s runner-up finish is a complete reversal of form for Levanen who last year failed to qualify for an A-Main.

Three drivers had a chance to claim the runners-up spot in Leg 3 but on lap 9 rapid Norwegian Adrian Berntsen bowed out, rolling his Xray on lap 9 of 25 while in a battle for second with Marc Rheinard and Yannic Prumper.  Having just rejoined Xray after a year away from the Slovakian manufacturer, the 19-year-old’s performance this weekend has marked him out as one to watch with the former European Junior Champion well at home running side by side with the ETS’ more established stars.  Ending up 7th in the Leg, Berntsen would finish the event as the best placed Xray driver in fifth overall just ahead of the team’s 2011/12 title contender Alexander Hagberg.

Pulling a stunning pass on Rheinard only to give back the position moments later when he flipped his Thunder Power equipped Yokomo, third in Leg 3 behind the 3-time World Champion was enough for Prumper to claim the final step on the podium.  For Rheinard second was only good enough for fourth making this the second ETS race in succession that the German has failed to make the podium as well as being only the second time in the series’ 28 race history that no Tamiya driver has finished in the Top 3.

In Pro stock the 3rd A-Main was also about declaring who would finish runner up, Oliver Franke having bagged the overall win in Leg 2 with his second tone to tone victory of the day.  With the winning HB absent from the pole it was the Awesomatix of Dominic Vogl that lead away the pack.  Setting the fastest lap of the 5-minute encounter the Austrian took the win ahead of Jan Asmer’s Serpent, a result that would see the pair join Franke on the podium in that order.

The only one of the 3 classes that make up the ETS race programme to go down to the wire the Speed Passion Formula class third A-Main produced one of the best races of the day. With four lead changes during the race the most important one happened on the last lap. Looking like he had done enough for the win, three corners from the finish Roman Pichler got out of shape allowing Top Qualifier Jan Asmer to slip down his inside to take the win in a drag down the straight.  In the end the class debutant took the Leg by 12/100th giving him the overall victory with Pichler and Leg 1 winner Alexander Roeleveld joining him on the podium.

Ride Modified A-Main Overall Result
1. Ronald Völker (DE) – Yokomo – 2 pts
2. Juho Levänen (FI) – Associated – 3
3. Yannic Prümper (DE) – Yokomo – 6
4. Marc Rheinard (DE) – Tamiya – 7
5. Adrian Berntsen (NO) – Xray – 7
6. Alexander Hagberg (SE) – Xray – 11
7. Freddy Südhoff (DE) – Awesomatix – 11
8. David Ehrbar (DE) – Serpent – 13
9. Magnus Vässmar (SE) – Xray – 13
10.Tim Wahl (DE) – Xray – 19

Ride Modified A-Main Leg 3
1.(2) Juho Levänen (FI) – Associated – 25/5:08.440
2.(3) Marc Rheinard (DE) – Tamiya – 25/5:08.901
3.(5) Yannic Prümper (DE) – Yokomo – 25/5:09.450
4.(8) Alexander Hagberg (SE) – Xray – 24/5:01.291
5.(9) David Ehrbar (DE) – Serpent – 24/5:02.840
6.(10)Magnus Vässmar (SE) – Xray – 24/5:03.314
7.(4) Adrian Berntsen (NO) – Xray – 24/5:03.389
8.(6) Freddy Südhoff (DE) – Awesomatix – 24/5:03.847
9.(7) Tim Wahl (DE) – Xray – 24/5:04.325
10.(1)Ronald Völker (DE) – Yokomo – DNS

Xray Pro Stock A-Main Overall Result
1. Oliver Franke (DE) – HB – 2 pts
2. Dominic Vogl (AT) – Awesomatix – 3
3. Jan Asmer (DE) – Serpent – 4
4. Martin Hofer (DE) – Schumacher – 6
5. Max Mächler (DE) – Awesomatix – 8
6. Ivan Laptev (RU) – Awesomatix – 9
7. Bart Wubben (NL) – Xray – 11
8. Markus Kreder (DE) – Serpent – 13
9. Philipp Neudinger (AT) – Awesomatix – 16
10.Viljami Kutvonen (FI) – Awesomatix – 16

Xray Pro Stock A-Main Leg 3
1.(2) Dominic Vogl (AT) – Awesomatix – 23/5:02.292
2.(4) Jan Asmer (DE) – Serpent – 23/5:03.534
3.(3) Martin Hofer (DE) – Schumacher – 23/5:04.186
4.(9) Max Mächler (DE) – Awesomatix – 23/5:08.598
5.(5) Ivan Laptev (RU) – Awesomatix – 23/5:09.532
6.(7) Markus Kreder (DE) – Serpent – 23/5:11.739
7.(8) Philipp Neudinger (AT) – Awesomatix – 22/5:00.085
8.(10)Viljami Kutvonen (FI) – Awesomatix – 11/2:21.618
9.(6) Bart Wubben (NL) – Xray – 11/2:21.802
10.(1)Oliver Franke (DE) – HB – DNS

View the complete event results here.

View our event gallery here. / Videos to follow on Monday.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: