Wilck wins Gran Canaria after exciting 2nd Main

Tamiya Racing Factory’s Viktor Wilck has for the first time in 19-races secured the top step on the Euro Touring Series podium after being declared winner of a thrilling second A-Main in Gran Canaria.  Securing his first & up to now only ETS win back in Kastellaun in 2009, the Swede claimed his second victory after video footage deemed that his TRF417 had been collected by the airborne Yokomo of Yannic Prumper at the final corner which then crossed the timing loop 2/10ths in front of the Top Qualifier before crashing into the fence and tearing the front right wheel off.  With Wilck’s car hit by Prumper’s car, which was launched into the air over the final corner at the end of the main straight, Race Director Scotty Ernst had no choice but to give the win to Wilck ahead of Prumper with Marc Rheinard who was also part of the lead battle coming home in third.

Suffering a broken turnbuckle and front body damage to his Tamiya, Wilck was delighted to secure the overall win but said what Prumper did was just natural instinct for a racer and had he been in a similar situation he would also have tried the same move.  Originally feeling hard done by when Prumper was first announced as the winner to the anxiously awaiting teams he said it was a big relief that the result was corrected.  With a sand storm arriving at the track during the second round of Mains, Wilck said conditions were very difficult due to the sand and the wind.  Looking like he had the win in the bag, it was the wind that would catch him out on the final lap allowing Prumper to get into a position to challenge for the win.  On the front straight the wind pushed his car into the corner and he missed his breaking point running offline were there was zero traction leading to his Speed Passion powered Tamiya getting out of shape.  With Prumper now right with him the 19-year-old German went for the inside line at the end of the straight riding the curb sending his car into the leader just before the crossed the loop hence the reason for the result that showed on the timing screen being reversed.

Accepting the Race Directors decision, Prumper said being so close he had to try something adding that ‘if it looks like it will fit you have to put it in’ but unfortunately he caught too much curb. Changing from 2 to 3 degree of toe on his Muchmore powered DB7 he said the car was much more stable on power and this was the main reason he was able to be so competitive.

Finishing third having mounted a challenge on Prumper before getting out of shape, Rheinard said he just took too long to pass Alexander Hagberg and Ronald Volker with who he had a coming together with in the opening A-Main.  Delighted that his team-mate had secured the overall win, being the first drivers to call for the video of the finish to be viewed, the German said he would be going all out for the win in the third A-Main as he had a chance of finishing second overall which would give Tamiya their first ETS 1-2 for some time.  With Wilck sitting out the closing race, Rheinard said he expects a though race with the two Yokomo’s starting up front.

The second Xray Pro Stock A-Main also saw the overall win decided with Marek Cerny backing up his early win this time ahead of Martin Hofer to successfully defend the win he took on the Spanish Island 12 months ago.  His second win of the season, the result sees the Czech driver move to the top of the championship standings.  In the Speed Passion Formula class Serpent driver Jan Asmer secured his third overall victory of the season with his second win of the day.

Ride Modified A-Main Leg 2 Result
1.(1) Viktor Wilck (SE) – Tamiya/Speed Passion – 16/5:11.562
2.(3) Yannic Prumper (DE) – Yokomo/Muchmore – 16/5:11.562
3.(5) Marc Rheinard (DE) – Tamiya/Muchmore – 16/5:11.982
4.(2) Ronald Volker (DE) – Yokomo/LRP – 16/5:15.881
5.(4) Alexander Hagberg (SE) – Xray/ORCA – 16/5:16.852
6.(6) Marc Fischer (DE) – Serpent/Thunder Power – 16/5:17.651
7.(9) Adrien Berntsen (NO) – Xray/ORCA – 16/5:18.795
8.(8) Christopher Krapp (DE) – Kyosho/Orion – 16/5:21.441
9.(10)Loic Jasmin (FR) – Yokmo/LRP – 15/5:01.065
10.(7)Andy Moore (GB) – HB/Hobbywing – 12/3:58.857

Xray Pro Stock A-Main Leg 2 Result
1.(1) Marek Cerny (CZ) – Xray – 15/5:15.765
2.(6) Martin Hofer (DE) – Schumacher – 15/5:16.634
3.(2) Viljami Kutvonen (FI) – Awesomatix – 15/5:17.293
4.(3) Zdenko Kunak (SK) – Yokomo – 15/5:19.499
5.(8) Bart Wubben (NL) – Xray – 15/5:20.334
6.(5) René Klöckner (DE) – Yokomo – 15/5:21.199
7.(4) Olivier Bultynck (BE) – Yokomo – 15/5:21.342
8.(10)Alvaro Fernandez (ES) – Tamiya – 14/5:02.069
9.(9) Toni Mateo (ES) – Yokomo – 14/5:02.611
10.(7)Trin Tanongsakchaikul (TH) – Yokomo – 14/5:04.004

View complete event results here.

View the event image gallery here.

Categories - Racing, Report


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or formatted results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry.

Title Sponsor

Primary Sponsors
Associate Sponsors ETS 2013/14 Sponsors Series Partners ETS 2013/14 Sponsors

2014/15 Final Standings (Round 1 of 6)

Ride Modified Class
1. Völker Ronald - 155pts
2. Hagberg Alexander - 153pts
3. Prümper Yannic - 152pts
4. Rheinard Marc - 152pts
5. Kutvonen Viljami - 150pts
6. Coelho Bruno - 149pts
7. Levanen Juho - 148pts
8. Fischer Marc - 147pts
9. Wilck Viktor - 146pts
10.Hudy Martin - 145pts
11.Stadler Dionys - 144pts
12.Cerny Marek - 143pts
13.Borowski Julian - 142pts
14.Orlowski Michal - 141pts
15.Ratheisky Jan - 140pts

Xray Pro Stock Class
1. Hoppe Lars - 156pts
2. Ratheisky Jan - 153pts
3. Hettrich Valentin - 152pts
4. Gosvig Mike - 151pts
5. Kreder Markus - 150pts
6. Hofer Martin - 149pts
7. Cerny Marek - 148pts
8. Borowski Julian - 147pts
9. Bopp Bernhard - 146pts
10.Mächler Max - 145pts
11.Vogel Tobias - 144pts
12.Streit Tony - 143pts
13.Gassauer Patrick - 142pts
14.Stocker Alexander - 141pts
15.Homburg Kevin - 140pts

Formula class
1. Ratheisky Jan - 156pts
2. Weber Herbert - 153pts
3. Ehrbar David - 152pts
4. Martini Francesco - 151pts
5. Kölbel René - 150pts
6. Pichler Roman - 149pts
7. Sperr Johannes - 148pts
8. Bultynck Olivier - 147pts
9. Delise Nicolas - 146pts
10.Raimann Daniel - 145pts

Like Euro Touring Series on Facebook