March 8, 2009

A3 win gives Groskamp runner-up spot

In what can only be described as 5 minutes of pure entertainment, the final race of the day here at the 3rd round of the Much More backed Euro Touring Series was eventually won by Jilles Groskamp giving the Dutch Tamiya Factory driver the runners up spot in the overall result behind the star of the event Yannic Pruemper.

With the overall winner decided in Leg 2 the final A-Main would determine the overall order for the rest of Top 10 here in Warsaw.  Intially it was 15-year-old star Pruemper who headed the field chased down by Groskamp but the Dutch driver found a way passed after a mistake by the leader.  Groskamp then made a mistake himself causing a pile up coming on to the main straight but the Speed Passion driver held position as Steven Wiess came out of the mess in second with Paul Lemieux third.  Again Groskamp got out of shape at the top corner handing Weiss the lead.  The Xray driver was looking really good for the win but on the final run through the first chicane he rolled giving Groskamp back the lead and the race win.  Weiss recovered to take second just ahead of Marc Rheinard.  The result meant Groskamp snatched second on the all Tamiya podium from team-mate Rheinard.  Fourth in the leg went to Teemu Leino with Austria’s Hupo Honigl taking his best finish with fifth while Andy Moore completed the Top 6.  In the overall classification this left Leino fourth, Moore fifth and Weiss sixth.

Modified Overall results
1. Yannic Pruemper – 20pts ( 10 10 1 )
2. Jilles Groskamp – 18pts ( 8 8 10 )
3. Marc Rheinard – 18pts ( 9 9 8 )
4. Teemu Leino – 14pts ( 6 7 7 )
5. Andy Moore – 13pts ( 7 6 5 )
6. Steven Weiss – 11pts ( 1 2 9 )
7. Hubert Hönigl – 10pts ( 4 3 6 )
8 Paul Lemieux – 10pts ( 5 5 4 )
9. Bart Wubben – 7pts ( 3 4 2 )
10. Michal Bok – 5pts ( 2 1 3 )

In Pro Stock Miek Niemann completed the perfect weekend winning the third Leg but didn’t lead from start to finish like in the previous two legs.  The pole sitter clashed with Daniel Wohlgemuth, the only driver able to take the challenge to him all weekend, on lap three dropping both drivers down the order.  The Xray driver set about a great recovery setting the fastest lap of the race as he chased down and eventually passed long time race leader Dai Sakaguchi’s Tamiya.  In the overall result it was Wohlgemuth who took second with ETS Pro Stock Round 2 winner Balint Rajki completing the podium.

Pro Stock Overall results
1. Meik Niemann – 2pts ( 1 1 1)
2. Daniel Wohlgemuth – 4pts ( 2 2 3)
3. Balint Rajki – 7pts ( 4 3 7)
4. Dai Sakaguchi – 8pts ( 7 6 2)
5. Oliver Näthe – 10pts ( 3 7 8)
6. Zdenko Kunák – 10pts ( 6 4 9)
7 Jakub Plechac – 10pts ( 5 5 5)
8. Dominik Reschke – 14pts ( 10 10 4)
9. Jan Gehrig – 14pts ( 8 9 6)
10. Jerome Meile – 17pts ( 9 8 10)

So the first international electric race meeting to be held in Poland has been a great success.  The facilities provided by the OSM Club, which is part of the Polish Automobile Club who celebrate their 100th anniversary this year,  are a credit to all involved.  As always it takes a big team to put together such a top class event but one man who deserves a special mention is Niko Triandafilidis.  It is because of his great work that we had so many young drivers among the 100 plus entry including four-year-old Maciek Kajko.  The Polish race will be remember as a great event but also as the one where emerging star Yannic Pruemper took his first big win.

YouTube Preview Image

YouTube Preview Image

View our image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: